Movies: Happy Death Day 2U Review

February 19, 2019

Well January finished with me going to see one single movie at the cinema, meaning that my Unlimited Card proved to be a waste of money for that month.

To be blunt, I don’t think there was anything else that was even on my radar, which is a pity.

And now with February almost come and gone, it looks like I won’t get value for money on it once again.

But there was one movie I wanted to see, and that was Happy Death Day 2U.

Why Did I Go To See It?: Because I loved the first one. The original Happy Death Day was hands down my favourite movie of 2017.

Was It Good?: Absolutely. Just like the first movie, I decided to go to the cinema not having any idea what it was about, or even how they could make a sequel out of it. But as it turned out, even though it used exactly the same cast, in exactly the same setting on exactly the same day, Happy Death Day 2U manages to work. By explaining why the events of the first movie happened and then setting it in a parallel universe where things are slightly different for Tree, it was both familiar and fresh.

And it was humorous too. Little things like the way the guy comes out of his room to tell the guy to shut up made me chuckle throughout.

It wasn’t flawless – the Dean of the university was absurd and there were some things that didn’t make much sense even if you allow for the daftness of the premise – but it was fun, and surely that’s what people want from a movie like this? The actors also looked like they were having a whale of a time, which always helps.

But Was It Worth Seeing At The Cinema?: Absolutely. Having enjoyed the first one as much as I did, I would happily have paid full price to go to see Happy Death Day 2U. And if I had, I wouldn’t have been short changed.

Put simply, I thought it was great and if you enjoyed the first one, you’ll enjoy this one as well.


TV: Russian Doll Review (Spoiler Free For Anyone Who Hasn’t Seen It)

February 6, 2019

Some people read reviews after they’ve already seen the subject matter to find out whether or not the reviewer shares their opinions, while others do so having not seen it, in the hope of finding out if something is worth their time.

Seeing as Russian Doll only released on NetFlix on Feb 1, I’m going to take the view that more people who read this will fall into the latter category.

As such, there won’t be any spoilers, so you can read on without fear. I’ll try to be succinct.

Russian Doll Review: What’s It About?

In true Groundhog Day style, it’s about a woman who dies on her 36th birthday and then repeats the day over and over again, dying every time. Can she find out why?

Russian Doll Review: Is It Any Good?

It won’t come as any shock to regular readers that I love the premise to Russian Doll, and though the setting, the story and some of the characters take a while to warm to, it turns out to be an enjoyable show that brings a fresh take to the Groundhog Day format.

It also does a good job of switching between dark comedy, science fiction and some rather thought-provoking drama on mental health and stability.

That being said, as with just about any Netflix show – or any streaming show in general – there is a lull where it seemed things were being dragged out a bit. I get the feeling some of the stuff NetFlix does could work better as a movie, or even just 4-6 episodes of story told in a swifter manner, but while I found my interest drifting around the episode 5 or 6, it’s fair to say that it picked up by the end and finished strongly in a manner that wasn’t as predictable as you might have expected.

It was definitely well done in that regard and certainly doesn’t need another season, even though we’ll probably get one. Or two. Or five.

In terms of the cast, I’m not especially keen on the lead actress Natasha Lyonne, as she essentially plays the part with exactly the same characteristics as she does Nicky in Orange is the New Black, but you get used to her after a while.

And I have to say – and some of you will already have read these thoughts on my Facebook/Twitter pages – I was very surprised to see Burt “Paulie from Rocky” Young in it. I genuinely thought he died about 4 years ago. So that was nice.

Anyway, to finish it off, I’d recommend Russian Doll. At 8 episodes it maybe does run a little too long for the amount of story there is, but it’s not going to take you too much time to get through it.

Give it a go and let me know what you thought.


The Three Phases Of Single Player Gaming (or “I’ve Finally Finished Assassin’s Creed Odyssey And Have My Life Back”)

February 1, 2019

It’s February 1st and I feel like I’ve got my life back.

Why?

Because on January 3rd I started playing Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey and now, 59 hours, 48 mins and 52 seconds of gaming later, I’m finally finished. Now I say finished, but if I wanted to I could go back and probably almost double that time by doing the side quests I swerved, and that’s before starting on any DLC that’s available.

I also would have spent longer playing it if a) I had played on exploration mode – the mode the developers suggest you play it on – where you are only given clues as to where you need to go next rather than get given specific waypoints and b) had I not decided maybe 20 hours in to skip through all the relentless dialogue and cut scenes.

Now there’s no arguing that by getting so much playing time out of a game, it has definitely proved value for money, but at the same time I’m a firm believer that games simply should not be that long. It’s too much.

I’m fortunate enough to have a decent amount of free time; I don’t have kids, I work freelance and my PS4 is set up in my own “man cave”, meaning I don’t have to share TV time with my girlfriend. Not everyone lives in those circumstances however; a lot of my friends now have maybe an hour per night where they can escape from their lives to enjoy a bit of video game action. In theory, they could devote all their gaming time to Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey and still be playing it six months later.

One of my friends who has kids and struggles for game time just bought the remastered Resident Evil 2 and he said that at 9 hours long it’s the ideal length for him. Considering it took him about 9 months to finish the most recent Zelda game I think he has a point.

You’re probably reading this and thinking “Well if you’re moaning about how long games take to play, why didn’t you just stop?“. It’s not that simple.

For me, the single player gaming experience comes in three distinct phases.

Phase 1: Hmm, I’m Not Sure About This

In this phase, the game hasn’t properly started yet. You’re not sure about the controls, you’ve barely unlocked any of the upgrades or maps and you’re judging it unfavourably against the last game you played through. You’re questioning whether or not to continue with the time investment. Sometimes you do and sometimes you don’t. Recently I stopped playing Mafia III at this phase; it just seemed crap.

Phase 2: Ok, This Is Great; I’m Happy For This To Take Over My Life For A Bit

Assuming that you’ve got past Phase 1, you’re now well into the game. You’re enjoying progressing through the various quests and are making every effort to level up. In the case of games like Assassin’s Creed or Far Cry, you’re happily unlocking the fast travel points and attacking the forts. You want better weapons, you want better stats and you want to increase your unlockable skills tree. You also happily let yourself get distracted by side quests. This is the sweet spot. Great times.

Phase 3: I Really Want This To End, But I’m Damned If I’m Giving Up

As sure as eggs is eggs, you will definitely get to this point if a game runs for 20 hours of game play or more (and let’s face it, so many campaign games do nowadays). At this point, you’ve invested too much of your time to just walk away because you need there to be a conclusive ending. You need to feel like the time spent on it hasn’t been for nothing. So you keep playing. And playing. The chances are you’ve levelled up to the point where there’s no real challenge left, and instead it’s just a matter of going through the motions to get it all done. You certainly don’t bother with side quests anymore; it’s all about the grind of the main quest.

That’s the point where you begin to resent it for taking over your life, and you feel a great sense of relief when the credits finally roll.

Of course, the thing is that in a few days, weeks or even months time you’ll forget all about Phase 3 and just remember the glorious second phase. And so you’ll buy another game and go through the motions.

It’s a bit like a drug I suppose.

I’ve already got my next two games lined up…


Movies: Stan & Ollie Review

January 17, 2019

If you read my post the other day about the value – or lack thereof – of a Cineworld Unlimited card, you’ll know that I’m going to try to see more movies this year and then decide if it’s worth keeping it on.

To help structure that in my own mind – and hopefully to create a workable and easy to read format for you readers to digest – my movie reviews will ask a few basic questions, which will then help me decide on whether or not that trip had value, or indeed an opportunity cost.

First up is Stan & Ollie.

Why Did I Go To See It?: This is a movie I’ve been looking forward to since I first saw a trailer for it in about September last year. While I’ll hold my hands up and admit I’ve never seen a Laurel & Hardy movie, I do enjoy a biopic and have a fascination with the behind the scenes lifestyles of showbiz stars from ‘back in the day’, by which I mean before everything became so stage-managed in the 90s onwards.

Was It Good?: Yes it was. Not only was it well acted by all concerned – especially the two stars, Steve Coogan and John C. Reilly – but the premise itself made for intriguing viewing. Imagine a situation today where a world-famous showbiz double act got back together 16 years after their pomp; it would be global news. And yet the two of them ended up going on an initially under-sold tour of small theatres in the UK. It was only after they got the word out and made people realise it was actually them on tour that business picked up.

The movie also touched upon the relationship between the pair and the inevitable end of their partnership thanks to Hardy’s failing health. All told, it was a nice, well told story.

But Was It Worth Seeing At The Cinema?: Ah, now that is the question. You’ve got to remember that a trip to the cinema costs money, whether that’s the purchase of a ticket on the day or the monthly cost of an unlimited card divided by the amount of movies you’ve seen in a month.

So on that note, was this movie worth the opportunity cost, relative to however else the money or time could have been used?

Stan & Ollie was good, but it was gentle. It wasn’t exciting and it didn’t leave me thinking that it was especially worth the trip. It also felt a bit padded out in spite of only being about 90 minutes long.

What’s key about it is that it’s a movie co-produced by the BBC and if I’m honest, I don’t think this felt like anything more than the sort of thing you’d expect to be shown on BBC1 on a Sunday evening.

Surely a trip to the cinema has to mean more than that?

I would say that I enjoyed it, but that it was by no means the sort of movie I couldn’t have waited to watch in a few months when it inevitably finds its way on to streaming services or TV.

As such, I’m not entirely convinced it was worth the trip.


Trial Of The Cineworld Card: After 2018 Was Such A Lousy Year At The Cinema, Is An Unlimited Card Worth It Anymore?

January 14, 2019

I’ve always had this belief that trips to the cinema cost me nothing, thanks to my Cineworld Unlimited card. I mean…they obviously cost me something but because the money has come out of my account through direct debit every month since October 2002, I’ve never really noticed it.

But when I sat down to consider what my top 5 movies of 2018 were, I realised three things.

  1. There was no stand out movie that I really enjoyed in 2018
  2. Probably the best ones I did see were on NetFlix
  3. I only used my unlimited card 14 times.

So not only did each trip to the cinema cost me an average of £15 – a regular ticket price is around £9 – I didn’t even see one movie that stood out as being worth the admission price.

What a waste of money.

It’s made me consider the value of keeping the card going.

The entertainment landscape has changed so much since I got the card in 2002, for a number of reasons including…

  1. The television industry has left Hollywood trailing in its wake, both in terms of the quality and freshness of what’s on offer and also the quality of acting and storytelling.
  2. Most movies are released to the home consumer far quicker than back then.
  3. Movies have become stuck in a rut of repeated franchises and re-imagined blockbusters
  4. The ability to watch a movie in the comfort of your own home with a big screen and high quality sound has improved massively
  5. The price of one trip to the cinema in Dundee – and in Dundee it’s a lot cheaper than London for example – is the same as the price of a NetFlix subscription for a month.

Then on top of that, there are other things to consider too, like the unavoidable fact of life that at the age of 36 I have less time available to do things like go to the cinema than I did at the age of 20, and the free time I do have is probably better spent doing other things more sociable.

Most of my mates stopped going to the cinema years ago for that very reason, while the friends and family members who do go now only go for special event movies like a new Star Wars. My dad considers that there are two tiers of movie; the sort you need to see now and the sort that you’d be happy to watch at home a few months later. I never used to agree with him, but I do now.

For me, 2016 was a renaissance year for the Cineworld card because I had just started going out with a girl who also had one, and it was an easy, cheap and obvious date.

But as we got to know each other more and found more shared interests and activities, the desire to spend as many dates at Cineworld watching movies that had no grabbing appeal diminished. Now in 2019 we live together and the prospect of us both going out to the cinema together when we’re either both too busy to do it or too tired to want to go out means that it’s diminished further.

So what’s the point? Why am I still paying for the card?

I really don’t know, so it’s definitely going on trial.

I’m only going to go to Cineworld for movies I genuinely want to see; the “I may as well since I’ve paid for it” mantra that cardholders often cite will no longer be a reason to go.

After each movie I do see, I’ll tally up how much it’s cost me and whether it was worth that money. If after six months I haven’t had value, then I’ll bin it.

And I have to say, it’s not looking good for it…


Stuart’s 2018 Review: Best and Worst of TV

January 2, 2019

Continuing on from my Top 5 Games of 2018, here’s my Top 5 TV Shows of the year.

And no, Doctor Who is not on it. I honestly don’t believe it should be for reasons I’ve discussed at length in my reviews of the most recent season.

Similarly, Grey’s Anatomy – one of my all time favourite shows – misses out because it’s suffered a drop in quality, especially against other US medical dramas that have been fresher and arguably better.

Making this list though hasn’t been too easy because there’s bound to be some show I’ve forgotten about. It’s not as easy as games or movies where there’s a digital footprint of everything.

But from what I can remember, this is my Top 5.

No. 5: Naked Attraction

This might seem a little weird – especially if I was watching this on my own – but both my girlfriend and I always get a great laugh watching Naked Attraction.

Readers from foreign climbs might not be familiar with it, but it’s a dating show where a man or woman is faced with six different pods containing fully naked people. As the covers for the pods rise in stages the person picking must one by one decide which naked person they don’t want to go on a date with. When it’s down to two people, the picker must also remove their clothes and then choose one person to go on a date with. We then see whether or not the date was a success. Nine times out of ten, it wasn’t, obviously.

It’s in my Top 5 because it’s so different to most shows, but also because it highlights the awfulness of some of the people who go on it. For example, if one of the people in the pods is fatter than the rest, you can bet that he or she will go first, but the picker will give some bullshit reason for why – “Oh, I didn’t like the shape of her shins” – rather than just admit it’s because she’s fat.

Also it’s funny to see the state of some of the people anyway. Weird tattoos, funny balls, saggy boobs, deformed vaginas, too much body hair (for women), not enough body hair (for men); you name it, it’s there for us all to see.

Highlight of the year was a really creepy bloke in his 50s who had recently divorced and was going into great detail about the various forms of S&M he’s into.

That’s 2018 in a nutshell folks.

No. 4: The Good Fight

The Good Wife spin-off continues to thrive with exciting storylines and a strong cast.

Is it better than the original show? I’d say it’s as good, but it does get let down a little bit by just how much the politics of the showrunners seep into the storylines.

In fact, by setting it in a world where Donald Trump is President and where almost everyone in the law firm hates him, I’m surprised they don’t get sued.

Still, this is the best traditional legal drama on TV in 2018 as far as I’m concerned.

The lawyer killer story-arc kept me interested and entertained throughout

No. 3: Billions

You’ll note above that I used the term ‘traditional legal drama’ because I suppose you could argue that Billions is also a drama about the law.

I’d argue it’s more a drama about the excess of the financial investment industry, but it’s better to keep myself right.

Either way, Billions is an excellent drama that I only discovered this year.

Though I think the lead actors tend to overdo it a little in their performances, the characters they portray are all fairly deep and pretty much none of them are sympathetic or likeable.

But that’s part of the fun.

No. 2: Better Call Saul

My pick for the best drama of the year, Better Call Saul continues to prove that it is superior to Breaking Bad in every way.

And yet it’s because of Breaking Bad that the show is good.

I don’t think there’s any other show that could make the building of an underground drug laboratory into something so gripping, but the beauty of the show is similar to my favourite Star Wars movie, Revenge of the Sith.

The thrill is seeing how all the pieces fall into place for the start of a show that has already ended.

In the 2018 season, characters like Jimmy McGill and Mike Ehrmantraut continue their transformation to the dark side, while the evil and ruthlessness of Gus Fring is highlighted further.

If you’ve seen Breaking Bad, you need to watch Better Call Saul.

No. 1: Taskmaster

Quite simply, Taskmaster is the most consistently entertaining show on TV, and has been for a few years now.

Every episode has new, different and funny tasks, the guests are always great and Greg Davies and Alex Horne are never off form.

I could go back and watch any episode now and find it as funny as the first time I watched it.

It’s probably not the sort of show that should end up on top of a list like this, but that’s just the way it is.

Can’t wait for more in 2019.

Honourable Mentions:

Other shows that came into consideration for this Top 5 include Netflix’s Lovesick, Safe, The Good Place and Ultimate Beastmaster, along with output from the UK and USA like Save Me, American Crime Story, The Resident, The Good Doctor, Mr Mercedes (which would have made it if the first half of Season 2 wasn’t such a drag) and Jane The Virgin (definitely one of my guilty pleasures).

Best Old TV Show I Discovered In 2018:

The wonderful Peaky Blinders and the understatedly excellent Detectorists were definitely contenders to win this award, but it has to go to the 1974 BBC drama Colditz, which I reviewed for the blog earlier in the year.

I don’t think the slow pace will be to everyone’s liking, but I thought it was superb, and the acting generally puts most TV from 2018 to shame.

If you’ve never seen it, seek it out.

Dishonourable Mention:

It’s got to go to WWE.

I religiously watched wrestling from 1991 through to about 2016, and then started to dip in and out.

In 2018, I’ve watched maybe four shows in total. Two different Royal Rumbles (because one isn’t enough), Wrestlemania and I think I maybe watched Survivor Series.

Either way though, wrestling has become unbelievably dreary. Whether or not you like wrestling as a general thing (and believe me, people who don’t like it are always at pains to tell anyone who will listen how much they don’t; these people are worse than Leave voters for forcing their views on you) the fact is that it can be as entertaining as any drama if it’s done right. After all, it is just another form of story telling.

But the 2018 version of wrestling – or at least WWE’s televisual output – involves repeating the same matches and storylines every single week without even trying something different. And there’s just so much of it. What type of person watches three hours of Raw, two hours of Smackdown, one hour of Main Event and one hour of the Cruiserweight show every week, and then on top of that PPV events that now last about 11 hours every other week.

And nothing about it is new. That one of the biggest matches of the year involved Shawn Michaels (debuted 1987) and Triple H (debuted 1995) against The Undertaker (debuted 1990) and Kane (debuted as Kane in 1997) is a scandal. Balding, saggy old men (plus one balding roided to the gills old man) flopping around, barely able to move. For about 45 minutes.

Then in the Royal Rumble – previously one of my top two or three TV highlights of the year – it’s still the same thing as it always is. You can tell exactly who is going to win, who is going to last the longest, who will be out in the first 5 and that Kofi Kingston will do some acrobatic to save himself for the 12th year in a row.

Nothing ever changes. Why? Because it’s the same guy writing it who has written it since the 1980s. Imagine if any other show was like that? It would have been cancelled years ago.

It’s so bad that they are doing a TV storyline acknowledging how bad it is.

How do I know this? Because I still read Raw results every week in the hope of things improving enough for me to watch it again, but all I see is the same old shit.

Weirdly though, I know a lot of people still watch it.

More fool them.


Doctor Who – Resolution Review (or “Lin’s Going To Prison”)

January 2, 2019

To be blunt, Doctor Who in 2018 was a disappointment.

If you missed my reviews, most episodes could be summed up as having lethargic plots that lacked threat and usually ended with the villain not getting its comeuppance, grating incidental music, a Doctor without a character to speak of,  and too many companions, resulting in not enough for any of them to do.

It’s not that the episodes were awful – indeed a small number were good – but after I’d finished watching them I had no real desire to watch them again.

All very insipid.

2019 has one solitary episode to change things, in form of Resolution.

And as much as I tried to avoid spoilers, I was aware that it would somehow involve the Daleks.

Hopefully that would at least fix the lack of threat…

Doctor Who – Resolution Review: What’s This One About?

A Dalek mutant, out of action since the 9th century, has woken up in 2019 Sheffield.

And Ryan’s dad has shown up too.

Thoughts – Much, Much Better

To get straight to the point, I thought Resolution was great. It was much better than any episode from the 2018 season, not only because it was well written, but because it had the very spirit of post 2005 Doctor

Oh just check his pulse for fuck’s sake!

Who at its heart.

You’ve got a contemporary setting, a proper Doctor Who monster that you can invest in, a Doctor that had to actually work hard to vanquish that monster, some domestic drama and character development, and a tie in to the occasion it was broadcast on.

The addition of Aaron was an important one as it gave both Ryan and Graham some purpose outside of just being there to ask the Doctor to explain the plot. Now sure, Aaron didn’t seem quite the deadbeat dad that he was made out to be in previous episodes (I was expecting a proper cad like an extended family member of mine who shall remain nameless), but on the whole I thought he worked well in the episode.

Unfortunately, Yas still had very little to do and could easily have been left out altogether.

And as for the Doctor? Definitely Jodie Whittaker’s best performance to date. Not only was her Doctor finally challenged, but she also came across as a character in her own right, rather than a David Tennant knock-off.

How To Use The Daleks Correctly

I have to admit I was initially a bit disappointed to hear that the Daleks were coming back, although I did warm to it towards the end of the last season because of the poor quality of monsters and villains we saw in 2018.

That being said, I thought the use of one single Dalek made for a far better story than we’ve come to expect from them.

In terms of how they have been used, this is definitely the most effective and enjoyable Dalek story we’ve seen for a long time.

Aaron is as bemused as me about Ryan calling Graham “Gramps”

By giving it a character and having it – as an individual – be responsible for each act of menace that it committed, then more is invested in seeing it defeated.

And it always helps to take the Dalek out of its casing to add to its personality.

What definitely worked was the way it used Lin to get around, and Charlotte Ritchie acted her part very well.

Furthermore, the makeshift Dalek casing – though perhaps a little too good considering it was made by Lin – was a nice touch.

Brexit UNIT and the Continuity of Alien Invasions

The absence of UNIT helped Resolution. If they’d been involved, it would have taken away from the more personal confrontation between the Doctor’s group and the Dalek.

So I have no problem with that.

And as a single joke for the benefit of the casual viewer on New Year’s Day in the current Brexit Shambles environment, having UNIT disbanded because of budget cuts was fine. In fact, the scene was handled pretty funnily.

However – and I say this hoping not to be as churlish as the reviewer in the example I’ll come to below about WiFi – the line about there being no alien invasions recently made no sense on a greater level.

There’s Lin, happy and smiling as the Doctor leaves, not worried about the possible multiple life sentences coming her way

Even as a Doctor Who geek, I get confused sometimes because I think the show itself gets confused.

Where are we on people knowing about alien invasions? I’m afraid I don’t have a flow chart to hand.

They’ve definitely hit the reset switch a couple of times, and I can accept that because it wouldn’t do to have the general population be aware of all the different worldwide invasions that have happened; that would take away from the writing of the companions.

But surely world leaders and UNIT are still aware of them somehow? Even as recently as The Woman Who Fell To Earth, there was an alien invasion on a small scale.

So it doesn’t make sense that UNIT were disbanded, and that’s without bringing up that they are a United Nations organisation rather than a British one…

And even though I hoped not to, I know I do sound churlish. Sorry, not sorry!

Random Observations

  • It would be easy for people who only want to be negative to say that Resolution works because it has a single Dalek, rather than how that single Dalek is written. But then I would counter that argument with Into the Dalek; it was bang average. Yes, I know that some other Daleks showed up at the end, but you get my point.
  • Even as someone who actively hopes the Daleks are used less than they are, I think you’ve got to give credit where credit it due. If you replaced this individual Dalek with any other alien, the chances are the episode wouldn’t be as good. Ultimately there’s a reason that the Daleks are the most enduring alien monsters, not only in Doctor Who but in any TV show or movie. They are distinctive, they carry menace and they just have that certain something about them.
  • I’ve seen some people pick on the joke about the WiFi going down, calling it a cheap gag. I even read one reviewer say something like “Families don’t actually spend time together on New Years Day, actually. So there! Actually!!!!”, but I had mine over for a New Years Day steak pie and we all watched it together. Also, it’s a joke that could work any day of the year. So stop being so bloody dour!
  • In the traditional ‘Goodbye in front of the ranch house’ scene at the end, Lin was all smiles. Surely she’d at least be sick with worry that she was about to be arrested for internet hacking, speeding, assaulting (at the very least) two police officers, stealing a police car, impersonating a police officer, trespassing at a secret weapons development site, assaulting a member of their security staff, theft and murder? It’s not like it would be easy enough to explain away, and local police officer Yas doesn’t seem interested in staying behind to help sort things out from her end.
  • It’s a shame that the world’s best ever microwave was destroyed like that.
  • I’m not sure how the Doctor thought that opening the TARDIS doors would only remove the mutant Dalek rather than both it and Aaron?
  • I see Aaron was as confused as I have been over the last few months about Ryan calling Graham ‘granddad’. Rightly so.
  • There was a brief moment where I thought the Doctor was going to be able to resolve the issue with the Dalek peacefully. If that had happened I’d have thrown a brick through my TV.
  • I’ve just came up on my twitter timeline (@sgmilne for those who use Twitter) that some papers are running a story about how people were offended by the UNIT/Brexit gag. Here’s an example tweet:wtf I can’t believe they had a dig at brexit during that episode. I take it back that is single handedly one of the worst doctor who episodes ever.” Jeeeeeeeeesus Christ. What a world we live in. People need to just cheer the fuck up and stop letting their political leanings ruin their lives.
  • The current Doctor definitely has a tendency to overuse her sonic screwdriver. Using it to check whether that guy was dead rather than simply checking his pulse was a bit much though.
  • Ok, hands up how many of you shouted “Blackpool” when the Doctor replied to Yas asking where they were going next.

Doctor Who – Resolution Review: Final Thoughts

I thought Resolution was a proper Doctor Who story; the sort of story that Russell T. Davies would have been proud to have written.

As far as I can see it’s the sort of story that the public want from the show, and after such a disappointingly bland 2018 season, it was very welcome.

Thankfully, it also showed that Chris Chibnall is capable of writing a good episode on his own, which has made me more positive for next year.

Alas though, not everyone will have enjoyed it, whether that’s people who have decided it was bad because of a Brexit joke (those people desperately need to get a grip) or people like my mum who in spite of sitting in a room with four other people who enjoyed it, simply said “That was a load of shite” as the credits rolled.

Ah well, you can’t win ’em all.