Stuart’s Week in Entertainment March 5th – 11th (Friday Night Lights, Dundee United and Mass Effect 3)

TV

My week has been dominated by one thing – Friday Night Lights.

When I wrote the last edition of Stuart’s Week in Entertainment, I was just starting Season 2, but only a week later and I’m into the fourth one. In fairness, Seasons 2 was only 15 episodes long and the subsequent ones only run for 13, but still…that’s a lot of Friday Night Lights in a week.

I’m loving it though; I read one critic say that it is the best sports related TV Drama of all time and I’m not going to argue with that. I can’t even think of what could compare with it. Well rounded characters, realistic and engaging plots, and funny at times without even trying to be

Great Show

a comedy – it’s a tremendous show. There aren’t any characters that I dislike or find annoying. When the show started I thought I’d get tired of Tim Riggins, but his ever-progressing story arc has turned him into a very likeable guy, and he’s well-played by Taylor Kitsch. But he’s only one of a large number of quality actors in the show, from Kyle Chandler & Connie Britton to Zach Gilford & Jesse Plemons.

I know some people will look at the show and think ‘I don’t want to watch a show about American Football’ but there’s a lot more to it than that. It’s really a show about the goings on in a small Texas town.

I’m not going to spoil any plot-lines for anyone, but one thing I noticed was how abrupt the shift was between Season 2 and 3. Season 2 was interrupted by the Writers Strike, like so many other shows were back in 2007/8, but I know of no other show that dealt with that the way the writers of Friday Night Lights did.

The season ran to 15 episodes of what probably should have been a 22-24 episode season, and it didn’t really end on any sort of cliffhanger. What happened was that Episode 15 ended as it would have had there been no writers strike and was part of a continuing season, while Season 3 started as if Season Two had run to it’s full length. Many of the threads of Season 2 were dropped, while some characters simply never returned and others had the reset switch pressed on them.

Really, it was as if Episodes 16-22 of Season Two had been made, but were like missing episodes of Doctor Who.

And you know what? It worked. As a viewer I just accepted that time had passed while the show had been off the air and that some things had changed. It was refreshingly realistic.

Football

The only other thing I’ve watched this week has been football.

Yesterday Dundee United faced Celtic in the Scottish Cup Quarter Final. Anyone who knows me knows I’m a massive United fan, so I’m understandably disappointed today. The game started off very promisingly and we were the better team for most of the first half until one of our players got sent off for a stupid and reckless challenge against one of the Celtic players.

Robbie Neilson was on a booking as it was and needed to be careful. Sadly for United fans he wasn’t and it cost us the game.

Massive credit to the rest of the players though because they tried their best, but once Celtic went 2-0 up it was game over.

There was a game earlier in the week as well as United played Inverness. Because of work I decided to not attend and instead watch the game on a 45 minute TV delay. At half time I pressed fast forward and annoyingly heard the final score of the game coming from the other room where other people were watching it live. Let me tell you; watching the second half of a game of football having already heard the final score is a boring and depressing experience.

It completely ruined the game for me.

Games

As for games, in the limited time I’ve had to play them this week I’ve been playing Mass Effect 3. Not much of it I have to admit, but a little bit. It looks like it’s going to be a top game, but the lack of obvious saving opportunities at the start of the game began to annoy me 90 minutes in.

Hopefully the game will live up to the hype and be as good as the second one was. I’ve heard people are ‘disappointed’ with the ending, but I don’t really pay attention to that.

While I’ll try and play more of it, I think some of this week will be taken up playing the soon to be released FIFA Street. Early reports suggest the game is top quality, and I can’t wait to get it.

If you have any thoughts or feedback on this or any of my other posts, feel free to let me know. Also, if you enjoy what you’ve been reading, why not share any articles with your friends on Twitter & Facebook?

One Response to Stuart’s Week in Entertainment March 5th – 11th (Friday Night Lights, Dundee United and Mass Effect 3)

  1. I love Friday Night Lights. One of all-time favorite dramas. I played high school football so could relate to some of the kids in that way, but it was just a good drama in general. My favorite character was always Matt Saracen partly because he reminded me of myself. Coach Taylor was a close second though. Seasons 1 and 3 were my favorites. The transition from S2 to S3 was kind of abrupt but I think it was for the best. Hope you enjoy the rest of the show!

Leave a Reply

