12 Of The Most Overrated Video Games In History – Part Two

In Part One of my article on the Most Overrated Video Games In History (available here) I set the cat amongst the pigeons with my inclusion of Sensible World of Soccer.

Plenty of people got in touch via Twitter, Facebook and email to state their reservations at me including a supposed classic game like that on the list.

I still don’t see it though; to me it will always be an awkward to play, limited football game that wasn’t nearly as good as some of the alternatives on the market at the time.

What was interesting though was that the other games on the list – Gears of War, Ninja Gaiden, Bayonetta, Forza and Braid – didn’t get nearly as much – or in some cases any – support from the readers.

It’ll be interesting to judge the feedback on the next six…

I should add that I was considering removing one from my list and replacing it with the supposed ‘Game of 2013’, Bioshock Infinite.

I’m a couple of hours in, but the game seems clunky and very much up its own arse. It might turn out to be good, but it’ll never be anything close to a 10/10 in my eyes.

7. Child of Eden

Ratings: Eurogamer 9/10, IGN 8.5/10, GameSpot 8.5/10

I could pretty much just put Kinect in as a whole. Even though it cost just short of £200, I can’t think I’ll ever waste my money more than I did buying that.

Not only does it fail to work in the average room of a British house (despite the claims on the box, it doesn’t work unless you remove almost all of your furniture. I suspect it was designed for the more open layout of an American living room) but

This game is about as clear as it looks

This game is about as clear as it looks

the games available for it are gimmicky pish.

No game encapsulates that more than Child of Eden.

Despite the high ratings, and the suggestion that it’s more of an “experience” than a traditional games, it has to be one of the worst games I’ve ever played.

If I recall correctly, the way to play with Kinect was to mimic a sort of ‘fireball’ motion from Street Fighter. Not only did it barely work, but the repetitive nature of it also hurt my forearm.

The option was there to play it with an Xbox controller, but that was about as fun as finding blood in your stool.

Thank God it was only a rental…

8. F-Zero

Ratings: Eurogamer 9/10, Nintendo Life 9/10, IGN 9.3/10

Racing games can be divisive, and I mean that in terms of how people rate them and how well they play.

I could just as easily add Sega Rally to this list because it’s one of these games that gets good reviews and yet plays horribly.

Never saw the appeal

Never saw the appeal

F-Zero is worse though.

I’ve always felt it’s a lousy experience, overly difficult and not a patch on Nintendo’s main racer, Mario Kart.

It’s overrated both in terms of how it looks and how it plays.

A game without character or re-playability, I just don’t get the hype.

9. Guild Wars 2

Ratings: Eurogamer 9/10, Metacritic 90%, IGN 9/10

Originally I planned on having Blinx The Timesweeper in this list, because it was highly rated when it came out but was just clunky dross. However, a quick look at review scores shows that only IGN gave it a high rating. Everywhere else accurately identified it as the rubbish was. Shame on me for only taking one opinion on board when I bought it.

So I had to think of something else to add in, and I considered a few games, from the Metroid series through to Skyrim. Not that I didn’t like Skyrim, because I invested hours and hours of my life

Biggest Waste of Money in 2012

Biggest Waste of Money in 2012

into it. It’s just that when a friend of mine noted that it was pretty much just a spreadsheet, the proverbial glass shattered and I couldn’t get into it ever again.

But I won’t add in Skyrim, and instead will induct The Biggest Waste of Money of 2012 into my list – Guild Wars 2.

A friend of mine convinced my brother to buy it, and in turn he urged me to drop forty notes on what was supposed to be a brilliant game for the PC.

It wasn’t.

Guild Wars 2 was difficult to get into, thin on the ground in terms of gameplay, confusing, limiting (you couldn’t do much because of traffic) and in a world where Xbox controls are the norm, was an absolute bastard to play because of its keyboard only scheme.

I gave it a few goes, felt completely underwhelmed and never played it again.

Awful.

10. The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher’s Bay

Ratings: Game Informer 9.5/10, Eurogamer 9/10, IGN 8.5/10

I can’t find proof of this now, but I’m fairly sure I bought this game on the strength of one game review site declaring it as the best game ever to be released on the original Xbox.

Certainly Wikipedia suggests it was the 12th on the IGN list, the 8th best Xbox game according to Game Informer and – staggeringly – the 98th best game of ALL TIME as ranked by CVG.

Apparently one of the best Xbox Games of All Time

Apparently one of the best Xbox Games of All Time

Trumpeted as having the best aspects of all modern video game genres, combining elements of stealth, FPS, Puzzle and Free roaming games, it was supposed to be brilliant.

But I found it was a jack of all trades and a master of none.

Lifeless gameplay, visually unappealing and – crucially – very boring, Riddick was a serious disappointment.

11. Grand Theft Auto 4

Ratings: Eurogamer 10/10, GameSpot 10/10, IGN 10/10, 1 Up Games A+

Grand Theft Auto 4 is the Emperor’s New Clothes of the Video Game world.

It might be considered great by so many people, but the flaws are evident.

How many times does Niko’s cousin have to phone you with an inane and repetitive mission before you get bored?

Why do you have to restart a mission from the very beginning if you die? Getting killed 15 minutes into one and having to replay the same things over again does not a fun game make.

As fun as this picture suggests

As fun as this picture suggests

You won’t hear me say that the GTA franchise didn’t create the genre, but what does GTA4 in as far as I’m concerned is that there are plenty of similar games that are more fun.

You want to play a game where you perform missions, side quests and watch a storyline develop with some humour? Play Saints Row 2.

Interested in just the shooting, destruction and free roaming? Crackdown is your game of choice.

There’s just no way it deserves the ratings and adulation that it gets.

12. Any Side Scrolling 2D Platform Game Made In The Last 20 years

For the final spot, I’m dumping an entire genre of games in.

Originally, the plan was to put in the overrated, unchallenging and insipid Rayman series, but Rayman is just one example of a genre that has gone entirely stale.

Look at the other main genres, whether it be sports, first person shooters, free roaming games, stealth ones or pretty much anything else and you’d be lying if you said there hadn’t been advancement in how these are developed between 1993 and

Super Mario World is still a better (and almost better looking) 2D Platform game than anything made in the last 20 years

Super Mario World is still a better (and almost better looking) 2D Platform game than anything made in the last 20 years

2013.

But the same cannot be said for the 2D platformer.

They did advance when they became 3D. Games like Mario 64, Banjo Kazooie and Donkey Kong 64 were all wonderful.

Somewhere along the line though they stopped making these games and went back to a more dated concept.

I discussed this in greater detail in my review of Food Run but to be concise I find these games to be overpriced, lacking in any challenge and nowhere near as good as the likes of Super Mario World or Super Mario Allstars were back in the day.

And they barely look any better either.

But time and again these games get 9/10 or 10/10 reviews from the usual suspects.

I just don’t get it.

Get Involved In The Debate

Stuart Reviews Stuff is a free entertainment blog. If you enjoyed this or any other article on the site, please consider taking a moment to Like the official Facebook page. You can do that by clicking like on the side panel, or visiting the site here

You can also follow me on twitter @sgmilne

Feel free to get involved in the debate.

 

 

2 Responses to 12 Of The Most Overrated Video Games In History – Part Two

  1. Isaac Stump says:

    100% failing to take this seriously when you dump an entire genre into an overrated list, with the first reasons you present being “price” and your personal experience with the difficulty — a game’s difficulty can be “too easy” or “too hard” but it better damn well be in the extremes for a “too easy” or “hard” comment to be justified, and I doubt the ENTIRETY of a genre can be considered for such a generalization.(Not to sound like a hipster, but if you limit yourself to some of the more obvious, first-person, mainstream games, which you sound like you do, you’re going to miss out on some beautiful gems, like Ori and the Blind Forest.)

    And while I agree with some of your entries, you present some of the most half-arsed, superficial reasons almost humanly possible to try to justify these entries. I know reviews are going to be somewhat reflective of the writer’s opinion, but they should still try to be as impartial and objective as possible, but this entire list screams out to me “bigotry.”

    • sgmilne says:

      And there was me thinking that this particular article was an opinion piece rather than an objective review…

      I actually had a read through of the article again and have no issue with anything I’ve written. It always comes across to me when people write such sulking replies as this that it stems from “He doesn’t like what I like and so I don’t like this article”.

      And that’s fine.

      I play games from all sectors, from AAA to Indy, and I have actually got Ori & The Blind Forest, but I didn’t like that either. The art style doesn’t please me and the gaming mechanics didn’t captivate me.

Leave a Reply

