Movies: Iron Man 3 Review (or “Don’t Bother With The Post Credits Scene. It’s A Waste Of Time”)

Wow…I got a ton of use out of my Cineworld Unlimited Card in April, didn’t I?

Not one sodding movie.

But there hasn’t been much on to catch my eye, and looking at the listings for the next week, that doesn’t seem like changing.

Except for Iron Man 3 of course.

I had to go to that!

Iron Man 3 Review: What’s This Film About

“When Tony Stark’s world is torn apart by a formidable terrorist called the Mandarin, he starts an odyssey of rebuilding and retribution.”

Iron Man 3 Review: How Highly Is It Rated?

Iron Man 3 gets a score of 7.9 on imdb with just over 58,000 votes.

It also gets a 77% approval rate on Rotten Tomatoes

Iron Man 3 Review: Who’s In It?

Apart from the usual gang of Robert Downey Jr, Gwyneth Paltrow and Don Cheadle, the movie also stars Mike off Neighbours and Gandhi.

Thoughts

Well I enjoyed it, but long time readers of this blog will know that I’m a big fan of the superhero movie genre.

Those readers will also know though that my complaint about these films – however much I like them – is that they tend to be loaded with plot at the start and then end with relentless action scenes. Most of the time that’s because the first half of Iron-Man-3 Postera superhero film is spent going over the origin of the character. Seeing as this is the third instalment in the Iron Man series, that wasn’t a problem.

Indeed, I was very impressed with the quality of both the storyline and the script, which moved along nicely, had plenty of interesting twists (Spoiler: I loved that the Mandarin turned out to be an actor working as a front for Guy Pearce) and a comedic side that allowed for plenty of laughs without venturing into the realm of silliness.

That’s not to say there weren’t special effects, because there were and of a very high standard, especially the attack on Stark’s house.

There are one or two thing I take issue with though. It doesn’t spoil the film at all to say it, as it has nothing to do with the plot but I’ll mask it anyway (Spoiler: How can he just get the shrapnel removed from his chest? I thought if they tried to remove that he’d die? Here it was just said as an afterthought – “Oh, and I had surgery to fix my chest”)

Also, the film tries to take into account the events of the Avengers, but it doesn’t stick to it. The idea that Stark can’t sleep and has been deeply traumatised by the events of that movie are a major part of the first half of Iron Man 3 but then get forgotten about. I’m also not sure that life would just go on as normal in a world where New York had been pretty much destroyed by an alien invasion.

On the whole though, a good film with a strong, well performing cast.

Personally, I’d love to see the Chinese version that contains a few extra incongruous scenes with a famous Chinese actor playing a redundant character called Dr. Wu.

That would be awesome.

Additional: Do Not Wait For The Post Credits Sequence

You know how I get annoyed with Marvel and their standard post-credits scene? I mean, why not just finish the film and then run the credits? Sometimes these scenes are important as they lead into the next instalment!

Not this time though.

I waiting more than five minutes for the credits to finish, only for the final scene to be Iron Man talking to Bruce Banner for 20 seconds. It had nothing of value in it.

A total waste of my time; don’t waste yours.

Iron Man 3 Review: Final Thoughts

So a good film on the whole that moved at a brisk pace, had some nice twists, a few laughs and some impressive action sequences that added to the quality of the piece.

It’s worth seeing, but not in 3D

And remember to leave when the credits roll!

3 Responses to Movies: Iron Man 3 Review (or “Don’t Bother With The Post Credits Scene. It’s A Waste Of Time”)

  1. Jasso says:

    A little whiner, aye? 😉

    Some SPOILERS could follow, so watch out!

    For me this was the best Iron Man movie so far. Despite the fact they somehow managed to forget the trauma for maybe an hour, it all made sense in the end when Stark destroyed all the remaining Iron Man suits and then tried to get therapized by Dr. Banner. Sure you could have used his trauma in a few occasions during the end of the film, but since Tony Stark is a funny guy, I wouldn’t expect too much drama and sorrow.

    The end credits are part of the movie (especially in a Marvel movie!) and I see it quite respectful to see them, especially if you liked the movie!

    • sgmilne says:

      Cheers nonamerjm 🙂

      Jasso, I think you could say the same amount any movie’s end credits. It’s just that there’s usually this “promise” of seeing something that aids the film or leads into the next one. I felt it a wasted 5 minutes.

  2. nonamerjm says:

    Great review. I agree with the spoiler surrounding the villain. If they had stuck the true version, it would have been extremely racist! Either way it’s a great film.

Leave a Reply

