Games – Impossible Road Review (or ‘A Simple But Fun Game That Offers The Elusive “One More Go” Factor’)

A sense of achievement is something that I often find lacking in modern “Campaign” games, which is why I’ve found myself playing them less and less.

You play through a game like Bioshock Infinite and it’s more of an experience (or chore) than a challenge. The fact that you can look up how long a game takes to complete shows that finishing the game is a given rather than something to aspire to.

I know I harp on about this, but it was different back in the day. If you played a game like Double Dragon or Rick Dangerous and you actually managed to finish it, you felt great. There were no safety nets like unlimited lives or checkpoints every five seconds in those days.

It’s the same with games like FIFA or Call of Duty if you play with your friends. When the outcome isn’t a certainty and you feel as though you’ve had to work hard to achieve the end result, it makes a difference.

So my gaming tastes have changed. Now I’d sooner play quick fix games that go back to the idea of “Aim for the High Score” than the big budget ones. Give me Pinball FX, Pac-Man or Geometry Wars 2 on the Xbox 360 over Fallout, Far Cry and Bioshock any day.

Luckily for me, there are plenty of games like that available on iOS and Android, and with that said, my latest iOS game comes from the maker of one of my previously reviewed efforts, Food Run (and you can read the review of that game here)

It’s…

Impossible Road 2

Impossible Road Review – What Is It?

Influenced by games like Super Monkeyball, Wipeout and the Rainbow Road level from Mario Kart, Impossible Road is a simple concept.

You control a ball down a winding road with steep curves and no side barriers.

The aim is to pass through as many checkpoint gates as possible and beat your own high score.

Price

Available for all iOS products (iPad, iPod Touch, iPhone) on the iTunes store, Impossible Road can be bought for £1.49/$1.99

I played the game on both my iPad and iPod Touch and it was equally playable on both systems.

Thoughts

Well as I say, it’s a simple concept.

There isn’t much to Impossible Road beyond trying to get the ball down as far as you can.

Initially, I didn’t think there was too much depth to it, and in those first goes I found that my score was pretty crap. Each time I’d only get 1-3 points.

But then as I kept playing, I found myself learning and improving. I realised that how you approach the control system (which is an easy “touch left to go left, tough right to go right” system) matters and that – crucially – falling off the side of the

It's goes for a minimalist look, but I'd have preferred the ball to be coloured

It’s goes for a minimalist look, but I’d have preferred the ball to be coloured

road isn’t the end, but is in fact key to success.

As the road winds downwards, you’re more likely to get a high score if you time falling off the edge so that you can land on the road below. Get it wrong and it’s game over, get it right and your score increases. It’s a risk versus reward affair.

What hooked me in with Impossible Road was that I wanted to first of all get a decent score, and then better it. It has that “One More Go” quality that games like this need, and when I finally got a score of 38 after a good 45 minutes of play time (it doesn’t sound like much but if you play the game, you’ll know it’s not to be sniffed at) I felt that elusive sense of gaming achievement I mentioned in my introduction.

What’s more, I gave my friend a shot of it and he too found that he couldn’t put it down, or at least he refused to until he beat my score. It never happened so I had to force him to relinquish it.

Terrific.

If I have one criticism of Impossible Road though it’s that I feel it would have worked better if the ball had its own distinct colour rather than just being white. I appreciate that the design is deliberately minimalistic, but it would have worked better for me if it was blue or silver.

It’s a minor complaint.

Final Thoughts – Is Impossible Road Worth It?

Impossible Road is the sort of game that you’ll be able to pick up and play today, tomorrow or a year from now and still get enjoyment from it.

Because you can’t complete the game, there’s no end point to it; there will always be something to aim for when you play it.

And I would also consider it the sort of game that you could have a quick go of on your iPhone when you’ve got a spare minute on the tube, the bus, at work or at half time at the football.

There’s no question in my mind that for what you get from it, Impossible Road offers fantastic value for money.

So spend your £1.49 and have a go of it today.

Get Involved In The Debate

Stuart Reviews Stuff is a free entertainment blog. If you enjoyed this or any other article on the site, please consider taking a moment to Like the official Facebook page. You can do that by clicking like on the side panel, or visiting the site here

You can also follow me on twitter @sgmilne

Feel free to get involved in the debate.

Leave a Reply

