Stuart’s Top 50 Television Dramas of All Time – Part Five (#30 – #26)

I’ve been focusing on other projects for the past couple of weeks which has somewhat ruined the flow of this article series, so apologies for those of you who have been holding your breath awaiting the next installment.

As I suspected might happen, I’ve since gone and found another TV show which I’ve deemed worthy of inclusion on the list. I’ll have to think about the best way to deal with that.

Anyway…

#30 – The Sopranos

And lo, there was a deep intake of breath from readers who cannot believe that The Sopranos – considered by many to be one of the very best TV shows of all time – only makes it onto my list at #30.sopranoslogo

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the Sopranos, but I feel as though there’s almost no replay value in it.

I watched it, and I liked it, but I don’t think I liked it as much as other people.

The problem, I think, was the lack of many classic episodes, the amount of repetition and – as the series developed – the focus that was put onto Tony Sopranos irritating children.

No doubt though, it had some dramatic moments, and I won’t be treading over new ground to suggest the best episode is the one in the forest where they chase after that guy.

#29 – Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

In 2013, more people will know of this as a movie, and a merely decent one at that.tinker-tailor-soldier-spy-logo

But the original series – the sequel of which has already appeared on this list – was far superior.

Quality acting and a slow, slow burning story.

Maybe for some people it would be too slow now, but I found it enthralling.

I bought the DVD for my brother’s Christmas a couple of years ago and he still hasn’t bothered to watch it.

What a dick.

#28 – Veronica Mars

Combining the “can’t miss” genres of Who-Dunnits and Teen Drama, Veronica Mars is a nice little show with an avid fanbase.veronicamars

Kristen Bell – despite being about 45 when she made this – actually looks well cast as a schoolgirl, which is rare, because a show like this usually employs 20-somethings who look nothing like the age they are supposed to play.

What I like about it most is that although it had plenty of single-episode storylines, there was always a season long “Bigger Mystery” that slowly unravelled as things progressed.

What I don’t like about it is the awful music and the actor Chris Lowell

Bizarrely, this show has never made it out on DVD in the UK.

I look forward to the movie.

#27 – The Wire

And lo, there were even bigger gasps when the supposed Greatest TV Show Of All Time only finished 27th.Wirelogo

As much as the Wire is very good, it does have a certain Emperor’s New Clothes feel about it. Everyone says it’s the best so therefore it must be?

Well, no, it’s not.

While it becomes very good, it’s probably one of the most difficult to get into TV shows I’ve ever seen. The glacial pace of Season One would have put me off entirely had people not told me to stick with it.

I did stick with it, and enjoyed it more as it went along. I think I even watched the entire final season in one sitting, which is unhealthy.

But best show ever? Not for this guy.

#26 – Suits

Here’s a show I only discovered this year.Suits logo

After my aborted attempt to watch Sons of Anarchy, I turned my attention to this brilliant legal drama about a guy with an eidetic memory bluffing his way into a prestigious law firm.

Unlike a show like SOA, it’s set in the sort of bustling city environment I like. There’s nothing grim about this show at all.

With strong characters and storylines, it’s a top show to watch.Vlogo

And One That Doesn’t Make The List…

V

You’ll probably think “Why would he even bring that up?”, but my brother has always been a fan of V and trumpets its awesomeness at every opportunity.

But I’ve never understood the attraction; to me, both the original series and the remake were pish.

 

2 Responses to Stuart’s Top 50 Television Dramas of All Time – Part Five (#30 – #26)

  1. Erlend says:

    There is a typo in the Veronica Mars bit.
    You obviously ment to write 25, not 45, right?

Leave a Reply

