How I Met Your Mother – Just When You Thought It Couldn’t Get Any Worse

I’ll admit it; without Doctor Who to talk about, I’ve made far fewer updates to my blog lately.

But what that means is I might start making more regular, shorter updates about other stuff.

So with that in mind, I thought I’d share with you my thoughts on the newest season of How I Met Your Mother.

I’m sure you all remember my article on how it had become by this time last year (if not, check it out here) but the big question is whether or not it’s actually managed to improve.

And let’s just cut to the chase and say no, it hasn’t.

What’s Wrong Now?

Well not too much has changed since last I wrote about it. The characters are now almost all entirely unlikable, the acting has gone even further down hill, the writing is pitiful and the jokes are non-existent.HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER

But it if that was all, then I’d have nothing new to go over.

Incredibly though, the HIMYM team have managed to make probably the worst decision they could make when deciding how to finish it; they’ve decided to set an entire season over 3 days.

Yes, you read that right, the entire final season of How I Met Your Mother will take place at Barney & Robin’s wedding.

That’s the same wedding that we first saw the characters at in the opening episode of season six.

The same wedding that we discovered Ted would meet the mother at in the opening episode of season eight.

And we – as viewers – actually met the mother at the end of season eight.

So what’s the point?

Well presumably the idea is that the show won’t work once Ted has met the mother, so this season is a sort of makeshift way of carrying things on because the network demanded another season.

But even so, it just shows a sorry lack of planning.

What’s more, because of either a logistical cock-up or perhaps some sort of rift between him and the rest of the cast, it means that Jason Segal won’t be appearing alongside his co-stars in anything other than flashback or flash forward scenes.

That’s because he’s stuck driving to the wedding alongside some woman we’ve never seen up until this point.

And furthermore, the show will now shift almost entirely away from its roots, with barely any scenes in New York.

Terrible.

But If It Was Funny…

If How I Met Your Mother was still funny, then this would barely be a problem.

It would work.

But it’s not and therefore it won’t.

Over the course of the final 20 editions (as I’ve only watched up to episode 4) we’ll be forced to watch those worn out characters repeat the same tired jokes – like The Ring Bear and “Thank You Linus” – until finally, Ted – who is still hung up over Robin – meets the mother.

Give Up Stuart!!

Why do I watch it? Because it’s too late to turn back.

I’m invested in it now and need to see it through to the end.

I just want to make sure it’s dead with my own eyes…

 

One Response to How I Met Your Mother – Just When You Thought It Couldn’t Get Any Worse

  1. BMac says:

    absolutely spot on! getting worse every week.

Leave a Reply

