Movies: Guardians of the Galaxy Review

When I have reviewed Marvel films in the past – and let’s face it, one in every three films made these days seems as though it comes from the Superhero studios – I’ve found that I’ve reserved the higher praise for the ones more grounded in reality.

I think that’s because I find the likes of Spider Man – set as it is in modern-day New York – or the 1960s America based X Men: Last Stand more relatable than the likes of Thor. Also, I think generally Marvel struggle to write good dialogue and plot for the ones set out in more fantastic settings.

So with that in mind, I was pretty sceptical going to see Guardians of the Galaxy. Hell, I’ve never even heard of the Guardians of the Galaxy comic books.

Would my reservations be proved correct?

Guardians of the Galaxy Review: What’s It About?hr_Guardians_of_the_Galaxy_29.jpg

A human – taken from Earth as a boy in 1988 – living his life out in the far reaches of the universe comes to accidentally possess a very powerful, galaxy destroying weapon. Along with a rag-tag bunch of misfits he meets in his travels, he must ensure it stays out of the hands of those wishing to do harm with it.

Guardians of the Galaxy Review: Who’s In It?

Plenty of well-known faces (and voices) take part. The lead star is Parks & Recreation’s Chris Pratt, and he’s joined by the likes of Batista, Bradley Cooper, Karen Gillan, Zoe Saldana, Vin Diesel and Glenn Close.

Guardians of the Galaxy Review: How Highly Is It Rated?

Generally very highly. Imdb has it currently rated at a colossal 9.0 from over 20,000 votes, while Rotten Tomatoes has it with an approval rating of 92%. Critic reviews are mostly high too, with only Time Magazine seeming to mark it down.

Guardians of the Galaxy Review: My Thoughts

At first, I wasn’t too sure about it.

For the opening 15 minutes, it didn’t seem to inspire me, and the setting and characters looked like they wouldn’t appeal.

But then I began to enjoy it; I began to really enjoy it.

This didn’t feel like a Marvel film because it doesn’t involve anyone who could be considered a Superhero. The main character – Peter Quill – is neither a God, nor a mutant, nor even someone who has been surgically transformed into something more advanced. He’s just a regular guy in space. And the people he teams up with aren’t world beaters either. Sure, you’ve got a talking tree who can only say “I am groot”, a wise-cracking, gun-toting, talking racoon and a literal thinking, humourless muscle man among his associates, but none of them are particularly special either.

So it was different to the norm and therefore didn’t suffer from the problems associated with the likes of Thor.

In fact, this seemed more like a Star Wars type movie than a Marvel one

And I liked that..

As a story, it wasn’t the most original or complex one you’ll ever see, and the characters weren’t exactly deep, but I think it was clear that they weren’t aiming for that to be the case.

Instead, I suspect what Marvel wanted to do was to present a film that was exciting, humorous at the right times and just generally fun throughout.

And it did exactly that.

The sound track also added to it as well and gave it some character.

If I was to be critical of anything, it would be that the villains weren’t the most exciting bunch (and Karen Gillan’s attempt at an American accent was a bit “Dick van Dyke in Reverse”) but I suppose by being so bland, it made the well cast protagonists stand out even more.

On the whole, I came away from this having more than got my money’s worth. It’s definitely one of the best films Marvel has ever produced, and it really is one that lives up to the imdb fanboy hype.

Give it a shot and you won’t be disappointed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

