Movies: The Shallows Review (or ‘The Shallow Movie. Lolz’)

I read a comment on Twitter today from a guy who said that The Shallows is easily the worst film he’s seen this year.

Personally, I’d disagree. It’s not a bad film, it’s just that it’s…erm…I can’t believe I’m going for the pun this early…a bit shallow.shallows

Hey, I bet I’m the first person in the whole world to make that play on words.

The problem with it is that it’s a film about a woman who is attacked by a shark whilst surfing in a secluded bay in Mexico. That’s it. She goes out surfing, she’s attacked, she climbs onto a rock and stays there until making a break for it at the end.

There’s not much you can do with that without it being padded out.

And even though it only lasts 86 minutes, it did feel like it was padded out.

But to be fair, in spite of that I thought there were plenty of redeeming features.

As a visual piece, it was fantastic (and no lads, I’m not just talking about the sight of Blake Lively in a bikini, I’m talking about the scenic shots), the shark was menacing and most of all, it was genuinely tense.

I think overall this is a film that can be categorised as one to see on Netflix, on a plane or if you have an Unlimited Cinema ticket, but maybe not worth the entry fee alone.

Unless you really love Blake Lively though I suppose…

Leave a Reply

