Stuart Reviews Restaurants: Empire State Coffee (Nethergate, Dundee)

I love pizza, but I’m very picky about them.

My brother makes tremendous ones, with dough made from scratch and high quality ingredients for toppings. What that means is that most pizza restaurants just don’t cut the mustard for me.

Why would I pay to get something that’s not as good as what I get for free at least once a week?

But that’s not to say I won’t give a pizza restaurant a try, which is why I was happy to go along to Empire State Coffee in the Nethergate.

Stuart Reviews Restaurants: Empire State Coffee – The Venue

It’s a nice, informal cafe/restaurant set over a couple of floors.

This Pizza is a work of art

This Pizza is a work of art

The tables were spaced out enough, the seats were comfortable and the pictures of New York scenery all over the walls was suited what the name.

What I loved about the place though was the relaxed atmosphere. Of the two other occupied tables, one had a bloke doing work on his laptop while the other played host to a table full of people enjoying a game of Dungeons & Dragons or something similar. There’s just something about that vibe that I like.

Stuart Reviews Restaurants: Empire State Coffee – The Food

Empire State Coffee offer a wide range of Paninis, Focaccias, Tostatis and Pizzas. In fact there are 31 set pizzas to choose from – including the option of turning any of them into a Calzone – and of course the ability to add toppings or build your own.

And even for a picky person like me, I’ve got to hold my hand up and say I thought they were really nice.

No sauce on this 4 cheese pizza. That's a good thing though

No sauce on this 4 cheese pizza. That’s a good thing though

I went for the Popeye – Olives, Anchovies and Spinach – with Buffallo Mozzarella and Tuna as extra toppings, while Mhairi went for the Brie,Mozzarella, Gorgonzola and Parmigiano one. What was interesting about her’s was that it wasn’t served with a tomato sauce. That allowed the cheese to melt directly into the base, allowing for a better taste, although a drier one.

For me, the pictures tell the story. You can see that those are good pizzas.

On the way out, we also got a Peanut Butter Brownie to share, and that too was top-notch.

Stuart Reviews Restaurants: Empire State Coffee – The Drink

Unusually, there was no ‘proper’ lemonade, so we had to go for some kind of Artisan raspberry lemonade stuff.

It was decent, but I’m even more picky about my drinks than I am my pizzas.

Stuart Reviews Restaurants: Empire State Coffee – The Vegetarians Viewpoint

It’s a pizza/sandwich shop. What are you expecting me to write?

Stuart Reviews Restaurants: Empire State Coffee – The Price

All in it came to about £20. Not bad.

Stuart Reviews Restaurants: Empire State Coffee – Final Thoughts

We both thought it was great.

For those of you who don’t make your own pizzas, Empire State Coffee comfortably makes the best ones I’ve had in Dundee.

And yes, that might be controversial considering everyone seems so enamoured by the admittedly decent Pizza NY, but for me, this was better.

Give it a try.

Leave a Reply

